2018 BSD Annual Faculty Award Recipients

Since 2011, the Faculty Advisory Committee has been honoring fellow faculty members for their contributions to our collective missions of excellence in education, research, diversity and inclusion, program innovation, service to the community and patient care. All current BSD faculty (except current FAC members, click here to view) are eligible to nominate and to be nominated for each of these awards. We encourage you to consider the talented and exceptional colleagues in your midst, and nominate them for their accomplishments.

2018 Faculty Award Winners

Distinguished Leader in Diversity and Inclusion

Junior Award
Rochelle Naylor, MD, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Senior Award
Karen Kim, MD, MS,
 Professor of Medicine and Dean for Faculty Affairs

Distinguished Investigator

Junior Award
Jane Churpek, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Senior Award
Stefano Allesina, PhD,
 Professor of Ecology and Evolution

Distinguished Clinician

Junior Award
Mustafa Hussain,
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Joyce Tang, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Senior Award
Mitchell Posner, MD, 
Thomas D. Jones Professor of Surgery

Distinguished Leader in Program Innovation

Junior Award
Jonathan Paul, MD, 
Assistant Professors of Medicine
Stephanie Palmer, PhD, Assistant Professor of Organismal Biolgy and Anatomy
Senior Award
Roderick Tung, MD,
 Associate Professor of Medicine

The Francis Straus Mentorship Award

Basic Science Award
Catherine Pfister, PhD
, Professor of Ecology and Evolution
Clinical Award
John Alverdy, MD
, Sara and Harold Lincoln Professor of Surgery

Distinguished Educator / Mentor

Clinical Sciences Award
Wei Wei Lee, MD, MPH, 
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Basic Sciences Award
Diane Lauderdale, PhD, 
Professor of Public Health Sciences

Distinguished Community Service and Advocacy

Junior Award
Shellie Williams, MD, 
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Senior Award
Deborah Burnet, MD, Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics

Gold Key Award

Patricia Kurtz, MD, 
Associate Professor of Medicine
Robert Naclerio, MD, Professor Emeritus of Surgery
Ronald Thisted, PhD, Professor Emeritus of Public Health Sciences

Faculty Physician Peer Role Model Award

Anthony Montag, MD, Professor of Pathology