Distinguished Leader in Program Innovation Award

The objective of this award is to recognize outstanding faculty leaders who have developed innovative programs that have improved the quality of the BSD and/or the Medical Center.  A broad range of programs are eligible including, but not limited to, programs that improve clinical care, administration, education, and research.  Each faculty member may nominate one junior and one senior faculty member in this category.


  • One Junior Faculty Award: Instructors, Assistant Professors, early Associate Professors (4yrs or less)
  • One Senior Faculty Award: Late Associate (more than 4 years) or Full Professors

Priti Jani, MD Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Christina Ciaccio, MD Associate Professor of Pediatrics


Sarosh Rana, MD, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Tia Kostas, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine

  • Xavier Keutgen, MD, Surgery (General)
  • Chalongchai Phitsanuwong, MD, Pediatrics
  • Husam Balkhy, MD, Surgery (Cardiac)
  • Anna Zisman, MD, Medicine (Nephrology)
2011 - 2020

  • Jessica Donington, MD, Surgery
  • Amber Trueheart, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Emily Landon, MD, Medicine
  • Kimberly Stanford, MD, MPH, Medicine


  • Valerie Press, MD, Medicine
  • Kiran K. Turaga, MD, Surgery


  • Jonathan Paul, MD, Medicine
  • Stephanie Palmer, MD, Organismal Biology and Anatomy
  • Roderick Tung, MD, Medicine


  • Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD, Medicine
  • Katherine Thompson, MD, Medicine
  • Cathryn Nagler, PhD, Pathology


  • Emily Landon, MD, Medicine
  • Victoria Prince, PhD, Organismal Biology and Anatomy
  • William Dale, MD, PhD, Medicine


  • Alexander Langerman, MD, Surgery
  • Ken Nunes, MD, Surgery
  • Mohan Gundeti, MD, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology


  • Dana Suskind, MD, Surgery
  • Betty Theriault, DVM, Surgery
  • Joseph Kanabrocki, PhD, Microbiology


  • Andrew Artz, MD, Medicine
  • Eduardo Perozo, PhD, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


  • John F. McConville, MD, Medicine
  • Tobin Sosnick, PhD, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


  • The nominee must be a current member of the employed (non-voluntary) faculty at the University of Chicago and hold their primary appointment in a BSD department.
  • The work for which the candidate is being nominated must have occurred while a faculty member at the University of Chicago.
  • Current elected members of the Faculty Advisory Committee are ineligible; see list of members here.



Required Documents

Nominee’s CV

    • Highlighted with activities and achievements that are relevant to this award

Nomination Letter (250-500 words) stating the basis for the nomination that may include:

    • The nominee’s role in development of the program
    • What is innovative about the program
    • The program’s impact on improving the quality of the BSD and/or the medical center. Provide as much descriptive and/or objective detail as possible
    • Is this or a similar program established elsewhere in the region or country? If so, how has the program being recognized advanced innovation in the field?

Nomination Submission Process

  1. Complete the Google form to notify us of your nomination HERE https://forms.gle/DyNAKH2DPyq5SgZ58
  2. Upload all required materials to box, see below or click HERE https://uchicago.app.box.com/f/0e2dcf68c4e6497689357768e8ba6cf3

Nominations close on May 7th 2024.