Gold Key Award

The Gold Key Award recognizes outstanding and loyal service to the Division of the Biological Sciences and to the University of Chicago. This award is traditionally presented to divisional faculty members who are at or near retirement or are transitioning to emeritus status. BSD faculty members do not have to be an alumnus to be eligible for the Gold Key Award.

Nomination Submission

The deadline for candidate submission for the 2024 Gold Key Awards has passed and nominations are closed.

If you would like to nominate a retiring faculty member for the Gold Key Award, please contact the UChicago MBSAA at or (888) 303-0030. 

Nominations require a submitted letter of recommendation in addition to the candidate’s CV. Please email these items to


The Alumni Awards Committee reviews the BSD faculty at or near retirement transitioning to emeritus status and determines up to three recipients each year.

Previous Award Winners

  • Harvey M. Golomb, MD Professor of Medicine
  • Jaideep Singh, MD Professor of Pediatrics
  • Keyoumars Soltani, MD Allan L. Lorincz Professor of Medicine
  • Diane Altkorn, MD, Professor of Medicine
  • Ira Hanan, MD, Professor of Medicine
  • Stephen Pruett-Jones, PhD, Associate Professor of Ecology & Evolution
  • Halina Brukner, MD, Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
  • Michelle Le Beau, PhD, Medicine, Section of Hematology and Oncology
  • Heber MacMahon, MBBCh, Radiology


2011 - 2020

2020 Winners:

  • Thomas Cutter, MD
    Clinical Professor, Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care
  • Edward Garrity, Jr, MD
    Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • Raphael Lee, MD, DSc
    Paul and Allene Russell Distinguished Service Professor, Departments of Surgery and Medicine


Click here to view past recipients of the Gold Key Award.


BSD faculty members are at or near retirement or are transitioning to emeritus status



Nominations should address the following:

  • Why does the nominee meet the qualifications for the Gold Key Award and represent the values and priorities of the University of Chicago?
  • What is the significance of the nominee’s body of work?
  • How has the candidate’s teaching or mentoring contributed to the lives of students and impacted the next generation of physicians and scientists? (may not be applicable in all cases)