Michael Reese Lectureship

Nominations for the 2022 BSD Michael Reese Lectureship Award are now closed.

The Michael Reese Lectureship recognizes outstanding faculty who have developed novel teaching, training techniques, bench or clinical research, or other topics relevant specifically to advancing health outcomes or healthcare. The winner will be expected to deliver a public lecture and will receive a $2,500 honorarium.  University of Chicago faculty are eligible to nominate one faculty member in this category.  


  • Faculty Member at any rank


  • Candidate must be a current member of the employed (non-voluntary) faculty at the University of Chicago and hold their primary appointment in a BSD department.
  • The work for which the candidate is being nominated must have taken place while the person was a faculty member at the University of Chicago.
  • Current elected members of the Faculty Advisory Committee are ineligiblesee list of members here.

Nomination Submission Requirements:

  • Nominee’s CV
  • Nomination Letter (250-500 words) describing:
    • The nominee’s novel contribution to advancing healthcare or healthcare outcomes
    • Why the novel contribution is innovative and important
    • How it specifically advances health outcomes or healthcare

Award Winners

  • Michelle Le Beau, PhD, Medicine (Hem/Onc)


  • Candice Norcott, PhD, Psychiatry & Behavioral Neuroscience


  • Sarosh Rana, MD, MPH, Obstetrics & Gynecology


  • Tara Henderson, MD, MPH, Pediatrics