Nobel Prize Winners Associated with Crystallography
2013 M. Karplus, M. Levitt and A. Warshel For the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems
2012 R. J. Lefkowitz and B. K. Kobilka For studies of G-protein-coupled receptors
2011 D. Shechtman For the discovery of quasicrystals
2010 A. Geim and K. Novoselov For groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene
2009 V. Ramakrishnan, T. A. Steitz and A. E. Yonath Studies of the structure and function of the ribosome
2006 R. D. Kornberg Studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription
2003 P. Agre and R. MacKinnon Discoveries concerning channels in cell membranes
1997 P. D. Boyer, J. E. Walker and J. C. Skou Elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP) and discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme
1996 R.Curl, H. Kroto and R. Smalley Discovery of the fullerene form of carbon
1994 C. Shull and N. Brockhouse Neutron diffraction
1992 G. Charpak Discovery of the multi wire proportional chamber
1991 P.-G. de Gennes Methods of discovering order in simple systems can be applied to polymers and liquid crystals
1988 J. Deisenhofer, R. Huber and H. Michel For the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre
1985 H. Hauptman and J. Karle Development of direct methods for the determination of crystal structures
1982 A. Klug Development of crystallographic electron microscopy and discovery of the structure of biologically important nucleic acid-protein complexes
1976 W. N. Lipscomb Structure of boranes
1972 C. B. Anfinsen Folding of protein chains
1964 D. Hodgkin Structure of many biochemical substances including Vitamin B12
1962 F. Crick, J. Watson and M. Wilkins The helical structure of DNA
1962 J. C. Kendrew and M. Perutz For their studies of the structures of globular proteins
1954 L. C. Pauling For his research into the nature of the chemical bond and its application to the elucidation of the structure of complex substances
1946 J. B. Sumner For his discovery that enzymes can be crystallised
1937  C. J. Davisson and G. Thompson Diffraction of electrons by crystals
1936  P. J. W. Debye For his contributions to our knowledge of molecular structure through his investigations on dipole moments and on the diffraction of X-rays and electrons in gases
1929  L.-V. de Broglie The wave nature of the electron
1917  C. G. Barkla Discovery of the characteristic Röntgen radiation of the elements
1915  W. H. Bragg and W. L. Bragg Use of X-rays to determine crystal structure
1914  M. Von Laue Diffraction of X-rays by crystals
1901  W. C. Röntgen Discovery of X-rays