Committee on Education Faculty

Below is a list of faculty members at the University of Chicago affiliated with the Committee on Education, organized by departmental affiliation. Click on any of the names to view a more extensive biography and links to recent publications. 

Charles Abelmann

Director, University of Chicago Laboratory Schools

Full Profile

Anjali Adukia

Assistant Professor, Harris School of Public Policy

adukia@uchicago.edu

Interests: Education inequality, institutional interventions, education and health

Full Profile

Elaine Allensworth

Lewis-Sebring Director, Consortium for Chicago School Research, Urban Education Institute

elainea@uchicago.edu 

Interests: High school graduation, college readiness, school leadership, school improvement

Full Profile

Margaret Beale Spencer

Marshall Field IV Professor of Urban Education, Department of Comparative Human Development

Full Profile

Michael Dinerstein

Assistant Professor, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

Full Profile

Eve Ewing

Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration

Full Profile

Susan Goldin-Meadow

Beardsley Ruml Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Psychology and Comparative Human Development

sgm@uchicago.edu

Interests: Language development and creation, gesture’s role in communicating, thinking, and learning

Full Profile

Deborah Gorman-Smith

Dean, School of Social Service Administration, and Emily Klein Gidwitz Professor

debgs@uchicago.edu

Interests: Development, risk, prevention of youth aggression and violence

Full Profile

Guanglei Hong

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Human Development

ghong@uchicago.edu

Interests: Quantitative methods, social causation, educational policy effectiveness

Full Profile

Tanika Island Childress

Acting Director, Urban Education Institute, Director and CEO, UChicago Charter School

tanikai@uchicago.edu

Full Profile

Ariel Kalil

Professor, Harris School of Public Policy

akalil@uchicago.edu

Interests: Child cognitive development, parental engagement, economic inequality

Full Profile

Micere Keels

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Human Development

micere@uchicago.edu

Interests: Trauma-responsive educational practices, effects of gentrification on public schools, effects of relocation, experiences of children in immigrant families, race-ethnicity, inequality, post-secondary persistence of Black and Latino students, integration of quantitative and qualitative methods.

Full Profile

Susan Levine

Rebecca Ann Boylan Professor in Education and Society,
Department of Psychology

Interests: Cognitive development, development and plasticity of spatial skills, early quantitative development, language development and functional plasticity in children with early brain injury

Full Profile

John List

Kenneth C. Griffin Distinguished Service Professor, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

jlist@uchicago.edu

Interests: Experimental economics, usage of behavioral economics to increase parental engagement in early childhood education, youth violence, economics of charity, environmental economics, experiments in firms

Full Profile

Magne Mogstad

Gary Becker Professor, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

magne.mogstad@gmail.com

Interests: Labor economics; public economics; analysis of social mobility and inequality

Full Profile

Derek Neal

Professor, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

n9na@uchicago.edu

Interests: Labor, black-white wage inequality, economics of crime, education policy.

Full Profile

Stephen Raudenbush

Lewis-Sebring Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Sociology and the Harris School of Public Policy

Full Profile

Shantá Robinson

Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration

srrobinson@uchicago.edu

Interests: Education, Urban Schools, Race, Ethnicity, and Culture, 

Full Profile

Melissa Roderick

Herman Dunlap Smith Professor, School of Social Service Administration

m-roderick@uchicago.edu

Interests: Urban school reform, high school reform, high-stakes testing, minority adolescent development, school transitions

Full Profile

Lisa Rosen

Senior Lecturer and Associate Director of the Committee on Education

rosen@uchicago.edu

 

Full Profile

Dana Suskind

Professor, Departments of Surgery and Pediatrics

dsuskind@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Interests: Language development, child development, cochlear ear implantation

Full Profile

Amanda Woodward

Dean, Division of the Social Sciences, and William S. Gray Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Psychology

woodward@uchicago.edu

Interests: Social cognition in infants and young children, cultural and community influences on children’s learning strategies, social-cognitive development. 

Full Profile

Seth Zimmerman

Assistant Professor, Chicago Booth School of Business

seth.zimmerman@chicagobooth.edu

Interests: Labor economics, public finance, household finance, economics of education

Full Profile

Skip to toolbar