Prospective Students

If you are interested in learning more from GRIT members about Graduate School in Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, Molecular Engineering, Psychology, or the Medical Scientist Training Program at the University of Chicago, please share your information and interests here so we can make sure someone from your department(s) of interest can reach out to you!

 

Important Announcement: Application Fee Waivers for Students from Minority-serving Institutions!

If you are interested in the University of Chicago and from a minority-serving institution – you’re in luck! UChicago admissions is now offering application fee waivers for you. Check out the following links to see if you qualify and get more information.

 

Resources for Applying

  • We recruit new students at many conferences! For more information, check out our Conferences page.
  • GRIT put together a guide for admissions committees on equitable practices for reviewing applications for students from marginalized backgrounds. Prospective students, feel free to check this out here to get an idea of how we encourage committees to review you: 2019 GRIT Application Committee Guide

GRIT Representatives

Each department or cluster of graduate programs at UChicago has one or more GRIT members dedicated to speaking with prospective students. We’ve listed these representatives below (though you can also find their information on the Leadership page, which may be more up-to-date). If you are interested in talking to us about applying to one of the UChicago graduate programs, feel free to reach out to the representatives of the clusters/departments that you are interested in!

You can find information about the organization of our graduate school departments, including links to program websites, on the Clusters and Departments page.

Biological Sciences Division (BSD) – GRIT Representatives

Biomedical Sciences Cluster

This cluster includes the following programs:

  • Cancer Biology
  • Immunology
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Metabolism and Nutrition

Cluster Representatives:

  • Joash Lake (jlake1@uchicago.edu)
  • Santiago Acero Bedoya (acerobedoya@uchicago.edu)

Darwinian Sciences Cluster

This cluster includes the following programs:

  • Ecology and Evolution
  • Evolutionary Biology
  • Integrative Biology

Cluster Representatives:

  • Caroline Abbott (cpabbott@uchicago.edu)
  • Megan Kennedy (mkennedy21@uchicago.edu)
  • Isaac Magallanes (imagallanes@uchicago.edu)

Molecular Biology Cluster

This cluster includes the following programs:

  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
  • Human Genetics
  • Genetics, Genomics, and Systems Biology
  • Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Developmental, Regeneration, and Stem Cell Biology

Cluster Representative:

  • Sarah Paracha (sparacha@uchicago.edu)

Neuroscience Cluster

This cluster includes the following programs:

Cluster Representative:

  • Jorge Alvarado (jalvarado@uchicago.edu)

Medical Physics

Program Representative:

  • Mira Liu (liusarkarm@uchicago.edu)

Public Health Sciences

Program Representative:

  • Lizeth Tamayo (lizethtamayo@uchicago.edu)

Physical Sciences Division (PSD) – GRIT Representatives

Chemistry Department

Department Representatives:

  • Jeffrey Dewey (jdewey@uchicago.edu)
  • Kate Berger (kjberger@uchicago.edu)

Computer Science Department

Department Representative:

  • Jean Salac (salac@uchicago.edu)

Geophysical Sciences Department

Check out the geophysical sciences department webpage.

Department Representative:

  • Matt Witte (mwitte@uchicago.edu)

Mathematics Department

Check out the math department webpage.

Department Representative:

  • DeVon Ingram (Dingram@uchicago.edu)

Computational and Applied Math Department

Department Representative:

  • Abby Poteshman (poteshman@uchicago.edu)

Physics Department

Department Representative:

  • Lavanya Taneja (tlavanya@uchicago.edu)

Statistics Department

Department Representative:

  • TBD (in the meantime, please feel free to reach out to any of the other PSD representatives!)

Interdisciplinary Programs – GRIT Representatives

Biophysical Sciences Program

Check out the biophysics webpage.

Program Representative:

  • Margo MacDonald (margomac@uchicago.edu)

Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)

For people interested in both clinical practice and scientific research, the MSTP is a physician-scientist training program. Find more information here.

Program Representative:

  • Kiestin Webster (klwebster@uchicago.edu)

Social Sciences Division (PSD) – GRIT Representatives

Psychology Department

Department Representative:

  • Carol Medina (carolmedina@uchicago.edu)

Molecular Engineering Division (PME) – GRIT Representatives

Department Representative:

  • TBD (in the meantime, please feel free to reach out to any of the other GRIT representatives!)