University of Chicago Crew Club

Our Leaders

The 2022 Executive Board

We have been proudly student run since our inception in 1976. Our members volunteer their time and efforts to more than just practices and regattas. The following elected officials handle all of the organization required to field a competitive team. Team members can read the board meeting notes by clicking on the link here.



Isadora Kron

The president is the leader of the board. Everyone’s boss, the president is the key cog that keeps the team functioning.

Isadora is in her third year on the team. She is a former equipment manager and is studying Environmental & Urban Studies, as well as Public Policy Studies. She got her start rowing in Florida, then at Exeter, and hasn’t stopped since.


Laurel Lyngklip and Robert Dinallo

The captains are the spiritual leaders of the team. They push each athlete to reach their full potential and make sure our crew is welcoming to all.

Laurel is a fourth year in her third year on varsity. She is studying Art History. She has previously served as the Treasurer.

Robert is a fourth year his third year on varsity. He is studying the History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Science and Medicine. He has served on the board previously as Fundraising Chair.

Internal Vice President

Raphael Stone

The IVP is the master of logistics. Organizing transportation to and from practices daily, they are the only reason the team is able to get anywhere. They are Incredibly Valuable People on UChicago Crew!

Raphael is a second year on the team known for “truly putting in those 20 hour days.” He is studying Molecular Engineering. Aside from crew, Raphael is Co-President of Bridge Club, a cellist for the University Symphony Orchestra, Vice President of Chamberlin House, and contributes to electrochemistry and material science research for Prof. Chong Liu’s lab.

It’s his first year on the board and on the team. Raphael got his start rowing in high school at the Texas Rowing Center!

External Vice President

Ishan Malhotra

The EVP makes sure the rowers only have to worry about their race at regattas by managing transport, logistics, and housing for the team at races.

Ishan is a third year in his second year on varsity and second on the board.


Alexander Urquhart

The treasurer is the master of the team’s wallet, nothing goes in or comes out without going through them.

Alex is in his second year on varsity and first on the board. He is a second year who studies Economics and Classics.

Fundraising Chair

Sofia Hrycyszyn

Keeping the team (financially) afloat, is a busy job. The fundraising chair is responsible for the organization all fundraising activities.

Sofia is a first year on the team and hails from Boston! She is premed. 

Equipment Manager

Elizabeth Ugan

Rowing requires a lot of stuff. Oars, boats, launches, launch kits, the list goes on. Keeping it all in top shape and keeping track of it all is the purview of the equipment manager.

Liz is a second year on the team, in her first year on Varsity.

Parent Alumni Liaison

Aidan Jones

UChicago Crew has existed for a long time, and has amassed hundreds of alumni and parents in our community. The PAL maintains those bonds and keeps our extended family connected.

Social Media Chair

Rocío Jerez

There is no point winning all of these races if we can’t brag about it, right? Well the social media chair makes sure everyone stays up to date on what is going on with UChicago Crew.


Hanling Liao

With all of these positions and all our events going on, someone has to be writing this all down. That falls to the secretary.

Harry is a first year in his first year on varsity.

Have a question for us?

We are happy to answer your questions and guide you who to contact for any issue you may have.