Current schedule (2017-18)

Below is a partial current schedule for the 2017-18 academic year. The list will be periodically updated.

Spring 2018

  • Friday, March 30 (Week 1), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Mingya Liu (Cognitive Science, Osnabrück University): “Negative polarity items – semantics, pragmatics, and processing”
  • Friday, April 20 (Week 4), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Manuel Križ (École Normale Supérieure): “Bare plurals, multiplicity, and homogeneity”
  • Friday, May 4 (Week 6), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Patrick Muñoz (Ph.D. candidate in Linguistics, University of Chicago)
  • Friday, May 18 (Week 8), 10:30 a.m. – 12:20 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Elisabeth Camp (Philosophy, Rutgers University)

Winter 2018

  • Friday, January 12 (Week 2), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Mingya Liu (Cognitive Science, Osnabrück University): “Speaker commitment of different dimensions: conditional connectives and polarity items”
  • Friday, January 19 (Week 3), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Julian Grove (Ph.D. candidate in Linguistics, University of Chicago): “Presuppositions as scope-takers”
  • Friday, January 26 (Week 4), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Yimei Xiang (Linguistics, Harvard University) [pt. I]: “A hybrid categorial approach to question composition”
  • Friday, February 2 (Week 5), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Yimei Xiang [pt. II]: “Complete and true: Attitudes held of questions”
  • Friday, February 16 (Week 7), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Carlos Cisneros (Ph.D. candidate in Linguistics, University of Chicago): “Dissecting indiscriminacy (and free choice)”

Fall 2017

  • Friday, September 29 (Week 1), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • John Horty (Philosophy, University of Maryland): “Epistemic oughts in stit semantics”
  • Friday, October 27 (Week 5), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Tamara Vardomskaya (Linguistics Ph.D. candidate, University of Chicago): “Sources of subjectivity”
  • Friday, November 10 (Week 7), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Matt Moss (Philosophy, New York University): “Covarying names”
  • Friday, December 1 (Week 10), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Ryan Simonelli (Philosophy Ph.D. student, University of Chicago): “Propositions and the power to represent”
  • Friday, December 8 (Finals week), 11:00 a.m. – 12:50 p.m., Stuart 209:
    • Klaus von Heusinger (University of Cologne): “The comprehension of definite and indefinite noun phrases – towards a dual-process activation model”