The Semiotics Workshop

Culture in Context

Author: rhoward

Spring 2018 Schedule

Thursday, March 29
Lily Chumley (Assistant Professor, Media, Culture, and Communication, New York University)
“Fertile Virtue Wealth: Gendered Agencies and the Linguistic Administration of Market Socialism”
Thursday, April 12
Angela Reyes (Professor, Department of English, Hunter College)
“Real Fake Skin: Semiotics of Skin-Lightening in the Philippines”
Thursday, April 19
Cécile Canut (Professor, Université Paris Descartes)
“TBD”
Thursday, April 26 
Colin Halverson (Post-Doctoral Fellow, Vanderbilt University)
“Standard and Legacy”
Thursday, May 10 
Chris Bloechl (PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, University of Chicago)
“Authoritative ‘Mixed’ Maya At a Presbyterian Church in Yucatán
Thursday, May 24 
Erik Skjon (PhD Candidate, Departments of Anthropology and Linguistics, University of Chicago)
“An Ecology of Value”

Winter 2018 Workshop Schedule

Thursday, January 11
Britta Ingebretson (PhD Candidate, Departments of Anthropology and Linguistics, University of Chicago)
“”She has two sons:” Reproducing State Discourses in Rural China”

Thursday, January 25
Yaqub Hilal (PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, University of Chicago)
“The Semiotics of Liberal Personhood”

Thursday, February 15, 3:30-5pm
Natalja Czarnecki (PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, University of Chicago)
“What Gender is Soviet Technoscience? Translating Food Safety Codes with the EU Harmonization Unit at the National Food Agency in Post-Soviet Tbilisi, Georgia”

Thursday, February 22
Ilana Gershon (Associate Professor of Anthropology, Indiana University)
“Hailing the U.S. Job-Seeker as a Failing Neoliberal Subject”

Fall 2017 Schedule

Thursday, October 5
Erik Levin (PhD Candidate, Departments of Anthropology and Linguistics, University of Chicago)
“Have You No Sense of Dicent-cy?: The Amawaka Sensorium and The Practice of Perspectivism”

Thursday, October 19
Perry Wong (PhD Student, Departments of Anthropology, University of Chicago)
“Jurisdiction Over People and Lightning”

Thursday, November 2
Mark Anthony Geraghty (Postdoctoral Fellow, Jackman Humanities Institute, University of Toronto)
“The Essential Inaccessibility of the Law: Prosecuting Crimes of Genocide Ideology in the New Rwanda”

Thursday, November 16
Yazan Doughan (PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, University of Chicago)
“Being a Patriot, Becoming an Activist”

Thursday, December 7
Summerson Carr (Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration, University of Chicago)
“American Spirit: Performance, Presence, and Profit”

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar