Six outstanding researchers have been selected as the recipients of the 2018 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award. The recipients are Elliot Berkman, University of Oregon; Marc Berman, The University of Chicago; Catherine Hartley, New York University; Kristin Laurin, University of British Columbia; Robb Rutledge, Max Planck UCL Centre for Computational Psychiatry and Ageing Research; and Amrisha Vaish, University of Virginia.

Named for APS’s first elected President, the Spence Award recognizes early-career researchers who have made transformative contributions to the field of psychological science, such as establishing new paradigms within a subject area or advancing research that cuts across fields of study. The 2018 Spence Award recipients will be profiled in an upcoming issue of the APS Observer and will be recognized at the 30th APS Annual Convention in San Francisco, May 24–27, 2018.