Declare the Education and Society Minor Online

Third-year students in the College wishing to declare the Education and Society Minor may now do so using an online form.

New Faculty Publications

Committee on Education Faculty have authored a number of recent books that break new ground in the field of education research. 

The Committee on Education is rooted in two basic tenets. The first is that scholars studying aspects of education within their disciplines will benefit from interdisciplinary interchange. The second is that a well-orchestrated interplay between researchers and practitioners will foster outstanding new scholarship.



We are pleased to announce the Charles M. Payne B.A. Thesis Prize for the best undergraduate thesis that investigates topics in education research.  Students enrolled in any program of study in the College are encouraged to apply by April 30, 2021. The winning B.A. thesis prize will receive a $500 prize. Learn more here.


The Committee on Education has received a new grant from the U.S. Dept. of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences, which will fund a new cohort of doctoral students in the social sciences with an interest in education research. This program will be accepting applicants in the upcoming 2020-2021 academic year. View a press release about this program’s launch here. To learn more about the program, including how to apply, click here.

Five Committee on Education Pre-Doctoral Fellows are recipients of the 2020-2021 W. Allison David Research Awards. They include Karlyn Gorski (Sociology), Ezra Karger (Economics), David Knight (Political Science), Darnell Leatherwood (Crown), and Helen Lee (CHD). Read more about the awards here.

In Remembrance: Dan Lortie, Influential Sociologist of Education. 

Professor Susan Goldin-Meadow (Psychology) was elected in April 2020 to the National Academy of Sciences.

Committee on Education Fellows David McMillon (Harris) and David Knight (Political Science) have won National Academy of Education/Spencer Dissertation Fellowships for 2020 for his proposal to study school disciplinary policy. Read more here.

Committee on Education Fellow Eos Trinidad, a PhD student in the Department of Comparative Human Development, won the annual Philippine National Book Awards’ 2019 Best Book on Professions.

Media Mentions


Professor Dana Suskind writes that universal childcare is a crucial public good that we must endeavor to provide during the coronavirus crisis and beyond in an op-ed for the Chicago tribune. Read it here. 


Committee on Education Fellow Bridgette Davis is quoted in a Politico article about the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on first-generation and low income college students. Read here. Davis is also interviewed in a UChicago News piece on this topic here.

Committee on Education faculty member Elaine Allensworth discusses the challenges of remote schooling for K-12 students and orients priorities for educators and guardians in an article for the Chicago Sun-Times. Read more here.

Professor Micere Keels discusses the possible impact of cultural centers at the University with the Chicago Maroon. Read more here.