Symposium Honoring Professor Allison Davis

Thursday, April 25 – Friday April 26, 2024 (see event page for full symposium details)

Featuring a panel on Education and Race on Friday, April 26th 1:00-2:15pm at the Quadrangle Club with:

Barbara T. Bowman, founder and past President of the Erickson Institute in Early Childhood, Director of Early Childhood for CPS, and long-time friend of Allison Davis

Mary Pattillo, Harold Washington Professor of Sociology and Black Studies at Northwestern, Chair, Black Studies, Ph D UChicago Sociology, and prominent expert on urban neighborhoods

Onnie Rogers, currently of Northwestern psychology, who will join UChicago as Associate Professor of Comparative Human Development, an expert on cultural stereotypes, identity formation and educational inequities

Stephen Raudenbush, Lewis-Sebring Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Sociology and Chair, Committee on Education

Please REGISTER HERE. See events page for full schedule.

We are pleased to announce that the Committee on Education has received a new grant from the U.S. Dept. of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences, which will fund a new cohort of doctoral students in the social sciences with an interest in education research. This program will be accepting applicants in the upcoming 2020-2021 academic year.

View a press release announcing this program’s launch here.

Five Committee on Education Pre-Doctoral Fellows are recipients of the 2020-2021 W. Allison David Research Awards, bestowed by the Division of the Social Sciences and the School of Social Service Administration. These awards are part of an initiative that honors the life and work of Professor Davis, a faculty member at the University of Chicago from 1942 to 1983. Awardees are students conducting research that carries forward Professor Davis’ lifelong work on the causes and consequences of racial and social inequality. The five Committee on Education Fellows who received this award include:

Karlyn Gorski, Sociology
Project: On Edge: Schooling in the Urban Periphery

Ezra Karger, Economics
Project: The Unequal Expansion of High Schools across the United States: 1850–1951

David Knight, Political Science
Project: Reconceptualizing Youth to Early Adulthood in the Era of Mass Incarceration

Darnell Leatherwood, Crown Family School
Project: A National Assessment of School District Variation in Black Student Academic Achievement

Helen Lee, Comparative Human Development
Project: “Fighting Back is as ‘American’ as You Can Get”: A Case Study of Chinese American Youth Collectively Constructing Alternative Racial Narratives

Read the full press release here.

Professor Susan Goldin-Meadow was elected in April 2020 to the National Academy of Sciences. Read the press release here. Read more about Professor Goldin Meadow’s work in UChicago News’s discussion of her election to the National Academy here.

Committee on Education Fellow David McMillon, a PhD student in the Harris School of Public Policy, has won a National Academy of Education/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship for 2020 for his proposal to study school disciplinary policy.  David’s challenging and original approach combines dynamic mathematical modeling and empirical evidence to uncover potentially surprising effects of following alternative policies.

Committee on Education Fellow David Knight, a PhD student in Public Policy, has also been awarded a National Academy of Education/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship for 2020 for his proposal to study school disciplinary policy.  David’s current research examines how public policy shapes young people’s sociopolitical development and transitions to adulthood across a variety of unequal settings—namely, criminal punishment, urban schooling, and housing.

Committee on Education Fellow Eos Trinidad won the annual Philippine National Book Awards’ 2019 Best Book on Professions. Read more here.

Committee on Education faculty members Stephen Raudenbush, Susan Levine, and Lisa Rosen recently spoke at a conference on the early childhood learning environment hosted by the University of Chicago Center in Hong Kong. Read more here.

  • 2019 AERA Division Outstanding Dissertation Award goes to Xu Qin (Ph.D., 2018, Department of Comparative Human Development, University of Chicago) for her dissertation “Causal Mediation Analysis in Multisite Trials with an Evaluation of the Job Corps Program.” Click here to read more.
  • Professor Susan Goldin-Meadow to give 2019 McGovern Lecture at American Association for the Advancement of Science Annual Meeting. Click here to read more.