Distinguished Clinician Award

Nominations have now closed.
 The objective of this award is recognize highly talented members of our faculty for their clinical excellence. Each faculty may nominate one junior and one senior faculty member in this category.
1 Junior Faculty Award (Instructors or Assistant Professsors)
1 Senior Faculty Award (Associate or Full Professors)


  • Candidate must be a current member of the employed (non-voluntary) faculty at the University of Chicago and hold their primary appointment in a BSD department
  • The achievements for which the candidate is being nominated must have occurred while a faculty member at the University of Chicago
  • To be nominated for achievements in a clinician capacity, the faculty member must provide clinical care directly or be involved in providing clinical services
  • Current elected members of the Faculty Advisory Committee are ineligible; see list of members here

Examples of Nomination Criteria:

  • Local, regional and national reputation for medical expertise and clinical excellence
  • Advocacy, devotion and compassion for patients
  • Collegiality and respect for peers, referring physicians and clinical support staff
  • Leadership positions in professional societies
  • Consultative positions with clinically-oriented governmental and private agencies (ex: AHRQ, American Cancer Society, etc)
  • Clinically oriented peer-reviewed publications

Nomination Submission Requirements:

  • A short summary (250-500 words) stating the basis for the nomination
  • CV of the nominee


Award Winners

  • Trissa A. Babrowski, MD, Surgery
  • Kathleen Mullane, DO, PharmD, Medicine
2011 - 2018


  • Mustafa Hussain, MD, Surgery
  • Joyce Tang, MD, Medicine
  • Mitchell Posner, MD, Surgery


  • Kamala Cotts, MD, Medicine
  • Edward Garrity, MD, Medicine
  • Wendy Stock, MD, Medicine


  • Grace Mak, MD, Surgery
  • Gini Fleming, MD, Medicine
  • Mahmoud Ismail, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology


  • Blase Polite, MD, Medicine
  • Aytekin Oto, MD, Radiology & Surgery


  • Jay Koyner, MD, Medicine
  • John Anastasi, MD, Pathology
  • Lawrence Gottlieb, MD, Surgery


  • Fuad Baroody, MD, Surgery and Pediatrics
  • Kerstin Stenson, MD (senior), Surgery


  • Bree Andrews, MD, Pediatrics
  • Donald Liu, MD, PhD, Surgery and Pediatrics


  • Olwen Hahn, MD, Medicine
  • Michael O’Connor, MD, Anesthesia and Critical Care